08 January 2016

TANZANIA - Dar to Host Zone Five Basketball

Dar es Salaam — Eleven countries have confirmed their participation in the Zone Five basketball championship to be held in the country in August, next year.
The Tanzania Basketball Federation (TBF) secretary general, Saleh Zonga, named the countries as Egypt, Kenya, Somalia , Eritrea, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, Sudan, Ethiopia, Uganda and hosts Tanzania.
Zonga said each country would field men's and women's outfits. He said Tanzania would have four teams by virtue of being the hosts.
Three venues- the National Indoor Stadium, Don Bosco Centre and new Jakaya Kikwete Youth Park- will host the tournament, according to Zonga.
"The TBF executive committee will meet on Thursday (tomorrow) to discuss various issues pertaining to championship which has been sanctioned by International Basketball Federation (Fiba)," said Zonga.
He said preparations for the tournament were on course and appealed to institutions for financial support, saying they need sponsorship to make the event a success.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?