02 March 2015

NIGERIA : NBBF May Admit 18 Teams for 2015 Zenith Basketball League

There are strong indications that 18 women basketball teams will participate in the 2015 Zenith Bank Women's Basketball League.
In a Press Conference at the weekend, President of the Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF), Tijani Umar said the Federation was presently considering two more teams from Zamfara and Nasarawa States in addition to the 16 teams that will participate in the league.
"Two teams from Zamfara and Nasarawa are being considered," Umar hinted.
He, however, declined mentioning the names of such teams, insisting that if eventually included in the league, the two teams will be unveiled at a press conference to herald the first phase of the league which dunks off in Abuja from 15-25 March, 2015.
Meanwhile, Umar inaugurated the Local Organising Committee (LOC) of this season's Zenith Bank Basketball League during the Press Conference with Frank Jituboh as its Chairman.
Other members of the Committee are; Silifat Muhammed, Adamu Babley, Skambo Morrison, Mohammed Suleiman, Ishaq Mohammed and Patrick Okeke.
The Committee's major task will be to ensure the success of the first phase of the league in Abuja.
The NBBF President insisted that this season's edition of the league must witness better synergy between basketball and entertainment.
Besides, Umar pointed out that the LOC must use all available vehicles to attract fans to the stadium to watch all matches.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?