13 December 2013

UGANDA : Lady Canons reclaim title

UCU Lady Canons celebrate with their trophy after clinching
UCU Lady Canons celebrate with their trophy after clinching this year’s Castle Lite playoff series. Photo by Ismail KezaalaKAMPALA- Maureen Amoding had a message for her teammates after their spineless 84-48 loss to KCCA Leopards in Game Five last week.

“The title will not come easy. We have to fight for it,” the UCU Lady Canons’ guard told her teammates. It’s the kind of reminder they needed.

Amoding got the response she desired. UCU dethroned KCCA Leopards with an 84-61 victory in Game Six on Wednesday to win the seven-game Castle Lite playoff series 4-2 and reclaim the championship.With the women’s game not as popular as the men’s, the only dampener is that many fans had left the Lugogo MTN Arena by the time UCU coasted to their fourth title.
Had they stayed, chants of ‘MVP MVP MVP!’ would have been appropriate whenever centre Peace Proscovia attacked the hoop. She scored 21 points and 13 rebounds.
Like KCCA’s Martha Soigi, Proscovia missed the last two games of the series while away in Singapore with the national netball team.
While they were on the same flight, they weren’t on the same footing. Soigi had 17 points and five rebounds though KCCA choked as a team other than Flavia Oketcho’s 15. After the near-perfect game on Sunday, the challenge for coach Ronnie Owino was always going to be how to keep the players close to that level.
On the other hand, there is no way UCU, now champions in three of the last four seasons, were going to get worse.
Frances Nabulobi scored 19 points, seven rebounds and seven assists in one of her best games since the knee injuries of 2011, Amoding 15 and Purity Odhiambo added 12.There is no doubt coach Boniface Okello has the best team and if winning all 26 regular season games showed it, this title only confirmed it.

Former champs
2013 – UCU Lady Canons
2012 – KCCA Leopards
2011 – UCU
2010 – UCU
2009 – KCCA
2008 - UCU
2007 - KCCA
2006 - Lady Bucks
2005 – A1 Challenge
2004 – Lady Bucks
2003 – Makerere Sparks
2002 – Lady Bucks
2001 – Lady Bucks
2000 – Lady Bucks
1999 – Lady Bucks
1998 – Lady Bucks

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?