31 July 2013

RWANDA : 15 teams for this year’s Fiba Africa zone V champs

This year’s FIBA Africa zone five championships is set to attract fifteen teams, seven men’s and eight women’s teams respectively. The championship is scheduled for August 5-11 in Bujumbura, Burundi.
Rwanda’s envoys to the zonal tournament will be holders Espoir basketball club in men’s category and APR women’s basketball club in women’s category. APR’s men pulled out of the competitions due to EAC military games set for August 5-17 in Nairobi, Kenya.
Not only APR’s men basketball club has withdrawn from the competition, two Tanzania’s army-owned ABC men’s basketball team and Jeshi Stars women’s basketball club also pulled out due to financial constraints.
It leaves Tanzania with two representatives, Vijana (men) and Bosco Lioness (women).
Other men’s teams are; last year’s finalists Urunani BBC and new star from Burundi, Kenya’s Usiu, Warriors and Falcons from Uganda.

Other Women’s teams include; Burundian Berco Star and Les Gazelles, holders Eagle Wings and Usiu from Kenya and Uganda’s KCCA.

Rwanda’s Espoir (men) and APR (women) will set-off for Bujumbura on this Saturday, two days before the championship kicks-off.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?