20 May 2013

RWANDA : Ten Teams to Compete in Gisembe Memorial Tourney

Organisers Espoir Basketball Club have confirmed that ten teams will compete in this year's Gisembe Memorial tournament, which is scheduled for the weekend of June 6-7.
The 10 teams include three from Rwanda in men's category and two for the women category, while other five teams will come from Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo and Burundi.
They include hosts Espoir, APR, Circle Sportif de Kigali (Rwanda), Muzinga and Urunani from Burundi and Warriors from Uganda for the men's category.
The women's category will have APR and National University of Rwanda, Berco Stars from Burundi and Promotion Jeunesse Basketball from DRC. The competition will take place at Amahoro Indoor Stadium.
Emmanuel Ntarugera aka Gisembe, was killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi along with others. Espoir will also be honouring other players and officials, who were killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.
Gisembe Memorial competition started in 1996 and Espoir, the organisers of the competition, won the inaugural title.
Some of the basketball fraternity lost include players and fans such as Gisembe, Gustave Rugamba, Aimable Rutagengwa Mayina, Emmanuel Rubingisa aka Mbingisa, Augustin Kabeho known as Tutu, Olivier Munyaneza Alias Toto, Damien Alias Nyirinkwaya, Théogène Mutijima Alias Riyanga, J.M.V Murenzi, Nice Hitimana and Felix Twagiramungu Alias Rukokoma.
Others are Mutarema Védaste, Desire Mukotanyi, Jean Bosco Rutagengwa, Majoro, Raymond Munyawera, Yves Gatera and Raymond Kabayiza who was the founding member of the club.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?