30 August 2012

LIBERIA : LPRC-Oilers Retains Basketball Champions

  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • (0 votes)
    2012 Basketball champs, LPRC Oilers2012 Basketball champs, LPRC Oilers
    First division basketball defending champs, LPRC-Oilers, brilliantly shielded the title and were crowned for the second time as the first division champions of the 2012 national league of the Liberia Basketball Association (LBA).           
    Last season (2011), Oilers ended their six-year wait to win the 2011 basketball championship in sensational fashion, picking-up from where Uhuru Kings left it in the 2010 LBA national league.
    They (Oilers) in the Best-Out-Of-Five finals convincingly dismissed the 2010 Basketball champs, Uhuru Kings, in three-straight games, which ended on Sunday, June 24, 2012.
    With Oilers having won games one and two with ease, pundits wrote off Uhuru Kings in game three on Sunday, and Oilers proved supremacy and sailed through with 63 to 60 points.
    In the debut Best-Out-Of-Five finals, on Wednesday, June 20, 2012, LPRC Oilers dragged Uhuru Kings 98 – 90 points in front of the golden (yellow and black) crowd.
    In the second encounter on Saturday, June 23, 2012, Uhuru Kings also bowed 68 to 74 points.
    LPRC Oilers’ second championship is owing to the marvelous tactical guidance of the the US trained basketball coach, who is popularly called the “The American Coach.”
    The American coach, according from statistical from Sunday’s game saved the petrol of his starters by introducing some fresh blood towards the end of the match.
    Coach Paul Hudson admitted that Oilers excellent defend-ness of the title is owing to the players’ hard work, determination and commitment.
    For his part, LPRC Managing Director Nelson Williams expressed his joy over the team second championship under his administration: “I am impressed…am really impressed with the team owing to the caliber of players that we have. And wWe can assure you of our moral and financial support.”
    Oilers won the 1998/1999 and 2004/2005 championships under the managerial sponsorships of Lewis G. Brown and Edwin Melvin Snowe, Jr. respectively.
    Elsewhere, K-Deltas and C-Deltas are neck-to-neck in the Best-Out-Of-Five finals and will continue the hostily this weekend.
    On Tuesday, June 19, 2012 K-Delta pinned C-Deltas 45 to 34 points and then on Wednesday, June 20, 2012, C-Deltas rotated the score and thrash-out K-Deltas 64 to 59 points.
    On Saturday, K-Deltas stretch-out their lead and on Sunday, C-Deltas again reversed the scored.
    Timber Wolves won the second division championship by beating Ducor Magic 72 to 62 points in game four. The third division fray is still ongoing as the female division.

    Comments: Post a Comment

    << Home

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?