17 August 2012

Africa Zone5 Basketball history & Past Winners

The zone activities started in 1995 as East Central and Southern Africa Confederation with a tournament of only two teams in Harare – Zimbabwe. The Clubs were from Kenya and Zimbabwe. The event gradually grew in strength and in 2000, the confederation organized its first ever nations cup in Mahe, Seychelles.
The decision by FIBA Africa in 2006 to join forces with the administration of East, Central and Southern Africa to bring all activities under a single event has helped spread the game in the region and enhanced the level of competitiveness.
Following the first tournament won by Kenya Commercial Bank (Men) and Kenya Ports Authority (Ladies), the sport’s publicity picked and has since helped revamp Zone 5 making it one the most vibrant in the continent.
The Club Championship alone has always attracted many teams from Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, including little known Ethiopia.
Africa Zone5 has also been mentioned as one of the best coordinated in terms of competition. For the record in 2009, Kampala hosted the tournament with a record 19 clubs participation. In 2010 in Bujumbura 18 Clubs took part and 14 clubs were paraded for Dare salaam Tanzania in October 2011. An entry of 15 clubs is expected in 2012 in Kampala. North African giants Egypt have however, pulled out of the tournament citing un-readiness and will therefore not be represented. As the clubs continue to battle for tickets to FIBA Africa Championships, a highly successful.
Meanwhile the rivalry within the region has severed with the Inter Cities Tournament is also being run annually. The show reached a milestone in Nairobi when two men’s teams from Southern Sudan paraded for their first outing. Juba and Bentieu Cities thrilled the crowds with the former stretching winners Nairobi to the last whistle in the finals that was played before a packed gymnasium. It was also worth noting that Mogadishu men and women teams took part in the Nairobi showdown.
Past Zone V Winners
1995 Harare (Men) Posta KCB (Women)
1996 Nairobi Coop (Men) KCB (Women)
1997 Kampala Coop (Men) KCB (Women)
1998 Dar-esalam Coop (Men) KCB (Women)
1999 Lusaka Cobra (Men) Telkom (Women)
2000 Kampala Falcons (Men) Ogopa(Women)
2001 Kigali Vijana(Men) KPA(Women)
2002 Nairobi APR (Men) KPA (Women)
2003 Zanzibar Ulinzi JKT E/AFRICA
2004 Kampala Postbank(Men) Lady Bucks(Women)
2005 Dar-esalam KCB (Men) Storms (Women)
2006 Nairobi KCB (Men) KPA (Women)
2007 Kigali APR (Men) KPA (Women)
2008 Adis Ababa APR (Men) KPA (Women)
2009 Kampala Coop (Men) KPA (Women)
2010 Bujumbura Coop (Men) Eagle Wings (Women)
2011 Dar-esalam Urnani(Men) KPA(Women)
2012 Kampala??

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?