08 June 2012

NIGERIA : NBBF Invites Aminu, Diogu, Alabi for Olympic Qualifier

Top NBA stars Al Farouk Aminu, Ike Diogu and Solomon Alabi are among the 21 players picked by the Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) to represent the country at the 2012 FIBA World Olympic qualifying tournament to be held in Venezuela next month.
The 2012 FIBA World Olympic qualifying tournament will hold in Venezuela from the July 2 to 8, 2012.
The top three teams from the tournament automatically qualified for the 2012 Olympics and the technical crew of D'Tigers believes the team has what it takes to make it to London.
For the preliminary stages, Nigeria is drawn in the same group as Lithuania and the host country, Venezuela. Two countries will emerge from the group and face one of either Greece or Puerto Rico in the next round.
NBBF President, Mallam Tijani Umar, at a media briefing in Abuja yesterday assured that the national men's basketball team will qualify for the 2012 London Olympic Games.
According to him, the current team being assembled was the best ever the country could produce.
"We can assure you that the team we have in place and the programme we are putting together for the team will ensure that we perform well at Venezuela and gain qualification for the Olympics", Umar stated.
He said the technical crew was working hard to ensure that the country qualifies for the Olympics.
Head coach of the team, Ayo Bakare said the players were invited based on their availability and current form, expressing optimism that the current crop of players can defeat any team in the world.
The players left both Nigeria and the United States of America last night to resume camping in China from where they will move to Houston in USA before heading to Brazil for a four-nation tournament.
"Tonight, the national team is departing from two locations. Players and officials will depart from Lagos to China while our foreign-based players will leave Los Angeles, USA at the same time for China", Umar revealed.
Five: Olumide Oyedeji (CBA), Michael Eric (USA), Solomon Alabi (NBA) and Akin Akingbala (FRANCE)
Four: Ike Diogu (NBA), Ejike Ugboaja (IRAN), Ike Ofoegbu (MEXICO), Ezenwa Ukeagu (USA) and Anagonye Aloysius (USA)
Three: Koko Archibong (GERMANY), Al Farouk Aminu (NBA), Melvin Ejim (USA) and Ekene Ibekwe (USA)
Two: Ade Dagunduro (BELGIUM), Stanley Gumut (NIGERIA), Derrick Obasohan (SPAIN) and Richard Oruche (USA)
One: Tony Skinn (Israel), Usman Abubakar (NIGERA), Mike Ohiero (Nigeria) and Noruwa Agho (USA

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?