26 March 2012

KENYA : Luvandwa, Onyango emerge tops in BBALL Awards

Hilda Luvandwa and Tobias Onyango were crowned the BasketBaller of the year in a colorful ceremony held at the Louis Leakey Auditorium at the National Museum in Nairobi on Saturday night.

The two emerged the winners after they accumulated more votes as voted by the coaches and the media, this were the first ever basket ball awards which were organized by codeRED and sponsored by General motors.
Kenya premier league champions Eagle wings were awarded the best women team with Samba Mjomba taking home the award of the most valuable player. In the men’s category Cooperative Bank the 2011 Kenya Premier League champions took home the crown with Titus Musembi named as the most valuable player.
In the coaches category Eagle Wings’s Thomas Olumbo was all smiles as he bagged two awards in the night, with Laiser Hill Academy and Eagle Wings as best coach. Cooperative Bank’s Carey Odhiambo taking the award in the men’s category.
Kisumu Lakers , Division 1 champions was awarded the best team with Dennis Oduor Nyabuti as the most valuable player, Mathews Ochieng was given the award of the best coach. Lakers by virtue of being champions were promoted to the premier league.

Nairobi Basketball
In the Nairobi Basketball Association, Safe Spaces the ladies champions were awarded as the best team with Penninah Nthenya as the most valuable player, the coaches award went to John Njuguna Maina.
In the men’s category, champions Upper Hill Secondary was crowned the best team with, Dominic Shitandi as the most valuable player, the coaches award went to George Mayega.

Coast Basketball
In the Coast Basketball Association, Mombasa Sports club, who were the 2011 champions were awarded the best club award with Primerose Assura as the most valuable player, Philip Onyango won the coach award.
In the men’s category, Makupa Lakers were crowned the winners, with Emmanuel Nyabuto as the most valuable player, Mickey Juma took home the coach award.

In the University league, USIU had the bragging rights as they took all the award on offer both for male and female, with coaches George Mayega and David Maina taking the awards of best coach in the ladies and men’s categories respectively.

High School League
In the high school league, Tigoi Girls emerged the champions as Lucy Ruphina was awarded the most valuable player, Bernard Jumba being crowned the best coach.
In the boys category, 2011 champions Laiser Hill Academy were crowned the champions as Elijah Panek taking the most valuable player award.

High Schools International
In high school international league, Rift valley academy were crowned the best girls school with Mary Kendall taking the award of the most valuable player.Alan Bouchard was awarded best coach.
In the boys category, Nairobi international school, was crowned the champions with Felix Odhiambo as the most valuable player.

Special awards
In the special awards, in which the fans were voting for their favorite player, Grace Wanjiku of Strathmore took home the award, while Arou Ramadhan of USIU took the award in the men's category. Philip Osore a referee who has been in the business for over 33 years was voted the best referee.

Media’s role of informing on the league did not go unnoticed, Dan Owere of the Star, and Caxton Apollo of Daily Nation were awarded for their commendable job in the sport.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?