14 January 2011

UGANDA : Power, UCU set to dominate awards

By Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo

Former MVP award winners
2009: R. Kasewu (Warriors)
2008: B. Komakech (Power)
2007: H. Malinga (Falcons)
2006: B. Okello (Marines)
2005: N. Blick (Marines)
2004: H. Malinga (Falcons)
2003: S. Obol (Falcons)
2002: H. Malinga (Falcons)
2001: N. Blick (Sky Jammers)

DMark Power and UCU Lady Canons ended the previous season with huge smiles on their faces having won the MTN-Fuba League titles in the respective divisions.

This evening, that smile can grow bigger as Fuba reward the best performers during the annual awards gala to be held at Imperial Royale Hotel. Among the glittering 34 trophies to be handed out, most of the attention will be paid to the four Most Valuable Player (MVP) gongs with the best men’s and women’s players in both the play-offs and regular season rewarded.

From Power’s legion that clinched a fourth title, forwards Isaac Afidra and Norman Blick plus point guard Ben Komakech are nominees for the post-season category.

Losing 4-3 in the thrilling best-of-seven finals has not shut the door on Kyambogo Warriors guards Ronnie Kasewu and Abdullahi Ramadhan. Blick, a two-time winner before, is also in the running for the regular season gong where Power finished as top seed but competition is expected from teammate Joseph Ikong plus UCU Canons duo of Enabu brothers; Jimmy and Ivan.

Kenyan power forward Richard Osano Omondi, who left Falcons to join Miracle Eagles last month, is also in the running. Lorraine Akinyi is favourite for both women’s top awards. Teammates Anastasia Njeri and Maureen Amoding offer the challenge.

There are also accolades for Coach of the Year, Most Promising Coach, Rookie of the Year and Fair Play Team award.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?