08 June 2009

FIBA Africa – Wild Card given to South Africa and Senegal for Afrobasket Libya 2009

FIBA Africa has given wild card to South Africa and Senegal for the 25th edition of FIBA Africa Nations Championship (Afrobasket Libya 2009) to be held in Libya.

South Africa ended second at the zone 6 qualifiers while Senegal failed to Mali at the zone 2 qualifiers.

16 national teams will showcase at the Afrobasket Libya 2009 that will play from 5th to 15th August 2009 in Tripoli and Bengazhi, Libya. At the end of the Championship, the best three teams will qualify for the FIBA World Championship 2010 to be played in Turkey.

The draw ceremony of the Afrobasket Libya 2009 will take place on 26 June 2009 in Subrata, Libya.

The 16 qualified teams

1. Libya (host)
2. Angola (Defending Champion)
3. Cameroon (vice champion)
4. Cape Verde (3rd)
5. Tunisia (zone I)
6. Morocco (Zone I)
7. Mali (Zone 2)
8. Nigeria (Zone 3)
9. Côte d’Ivoire (Zone 3)
10. Central Africa (Zone 4)
11. Congo (Zone 4)
12. Egypt ( Zone 5)
13. Rwanda (Zone 5)
14. Mozambique (Zone 6)
15. South Africa (Wild card)
16. Senegal (Wild card)

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?