23 January 2009

KENYA : Zone 5 2009 Afrobasket Qualifiers: Kenya names teams for Kigali at last

Professional player Peter Kiganya was yesterday named in the national men's side that will represent the country in the Zone Five Fiba Africa qualifiers in Kigali, Rwanda latter next month.

Kiganya, who plays pro basketball in South America and Cedric Osore, a student who plays at Weco were among the nineteen players that will stat training for the tournament whose winners will represrent the regional in the Africa championships.

National champions Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) Lions have produced four players including last year's MVP Victor Odendo and Tobias Onyango while runners up, Co-operative Bank of Kenya will have five among them Cliff Ochieng.

Coaching the men will be Anthony Ojukwu of national women champions Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) while a High School coach Philip Onyango will handle the women. The week long event throws off in Kigali on 23.

Kenya's opponents in the show namely host Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda have so far name their sides and are in strict residential training. The other nations expected are Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Burundi and favouries Egypt.

KPA will provide three players to the side while leaue runners up, Eagle Wings will have five among them the high riding forward Anastasa Njeri. The side will consist of 20 players and will include three high school girls.

The national women's, who are ranked 58th in the world last tournament was in Senegal in 2007 where they ended up last in a 12 team competition. The men's last assignment at the continental level was in 1993 in Nairobi ladies.

Point Guard
1. Hellen Oketch (KPA)
2. Everlyne Adhiambo (MSA)
3. Samba Mjomba (Sprite Storms)
4. Eunice Ouma (Eagle Wings)
5. Grace Wanjiku (Stratmore)

Two man
6. Hilda Indasi (Sprite Storms)
7. Debra Obunga (Kisumu Lake Side)
8. Brenda Odula (Sprite Storms)
9. Linda Nyikuli (Eagle Wings)

Three Man
10. Sunday Norah (USIU)
11. Annastasia Njeri (Eagle Wings)
12. Everlyne Akoth (KPA)
13. Diana Adikinyi) (USIU)

Four Man
14. Purity Adhiambo ( Shimba Hills)
15. Virginia Awino (Langata High)
16. Brigid Awino (Eagle Wings)
17. Maureen Atieno (KTTC)

18. Caroline Majeng (Eagle Wings)
19. Beril Amayo (Strathmore)
20. Yvonne Akinyi (KPA)

Point Guard
1. Wycliff Ochieng - Coop
2. Dan Okwiri - KPA
3. Tiberious Menya – Strathmore
4. Paul Onyango - KCB

Two Man
5. Tobias Onyango - KCB
6. Ligere Griffin - Pirates
7. Kevin Samora - KCB
8. Moses Mwangi - Coop

Three Man
9. Victor Odendo - KCB
10. Franklin Delano - Posta
11. Cedric Osore – Weco Versity

Four Man
12. John Paul - Posta
13. Richard Osano - Coop
14. Patrick Kirui - KPA
15. George Kamau - Coop

16. Eric Nyamae – Lake side
17. Rodger Mutai - Coop
18. William Odhiambo - Posta
19. Peter Kiganya - Proffesional

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?