14 December 2008

UGANDA : Power star Komakech favoured for MVP

Sande Bashaija

Former MVPs
1998 – Stephen Omwony
1999 – Stephen Omwony
2000 – Wilbrod Okecho (RIP)
2001 - Norman Blick
2002 – Henry Malinga
2003 – Sam Obol
2004 – Henry Malinga
2005 – Norman Blick
2006 - Boniface Okello
2007 – Henry Malinga
2008 - ??

Ben Komakech is favourite for this year’s MTN-Fuba League Most Valuable Player (MVP) accolade but must hold off the challenge from Sadolin Power teammate Joseph Ikong.

The MVP will be announced during the Federation of Uganda Basketball Associations (Fuba) awards ceremony scheduled for December 19 at Oasis Restaurant, Lugogo.

Both players joined Power at the beginning of this season but were very outstanding as their team won the men’s topflight championship. “It’s too hard for me to make a choice because all players did very well. But I think Ben and Ikong deserve recognition. Their energy lifted the team in big games,” Power coach Andrew Baziira said when asked who he would give the award. “We have already conducted a public vote and are meeting tonight (yesterday) to make a shortlist,” Fuba assistant general secretary Joseph Manano said without giving details.

Highest number
Daily Monitor though learnt from another Fuba source that the Komakech and Ikong got the highest number of public votes.

For the first time, the most outstanding players in the regular season will also be rewarded. “We realized that there are players who do very well in the regular season but their teams don’t make play-offs. At times some individuals do well in the regular season but fail to shine in the play-offs,” he added. The new development means that Kyambogo Warriors’ star point guard Ronnie Kasewu, whose team was eliminated in the semifinals, stands a chance of taking home the regular season award while Isaac Afidra could snatch the play-off series gong.

Power skipper Afidra spent about three months on the sidelines, but returned to spur his side in the play-offs. He helped the team outlast UCU Canons in the semifinals and Falcons in the finals. Frances Nabulobi and Flavia Oketcho, who were instrumental as UCU Lady Canons captured their maiden championship, are lead contenders in the women’s category.

Fuba will also reward the most disciplined team, most defensive side and top scorers in the men’s First Division, Second Division, Third Division and women’s category. Tickets for the awards ceremony are on sale at Shs20,000 each.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?