25 October 2008

KENYA : KPA Name Side for Zone Five Games

by Philip Onyango

Kenya Ports Authority has named a 12 strong member women basketball team which leaves the country on Saturday for Ethiopia for the zone five club championships which run from October 27 to November 2.

Releasing the names during the flag handing ceremony at the Mbaraki Sports ground on Saturday, team coach Anthony Ojukwu said he had retained a majority of the players who did duty when the team clinched the title in Rwanda last year.

Only three new faces will be making their debut among them Kenya under 18 guard Helen Adhiambo Oketch and Verlma Naliaka while Brenda Ageshi who played for Sprite Storms during the Kigali championships will now be donning the KPA colours.
Other players making the team are Caroline Arato, Agnes Anyango, Joyce Makhungu, Irene Murambi, Caroline Mureji, Mwajuma Suleiman, Yvonne Akinyi, Everlyne Akoth, and Susan Anyango.
Sammy Wanjohi will accompany the team as head coach cum assistant team manager, KPA welfare and sports officer Edward Oduor will be team Manager, Dina Chepyator doctor while KPA personnel manager Jayne Kamau will be leader of delegation.
The team which received the flag from KPA Managing Director James Mlewa also received T-shirts from GTV through Channels and distribution manager Raphael Kamami.
Mlewa promised to assist all the KPA teams which will perform well in both local and international events and urged the women basketball team to work hard and retain the title.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?