08 January 2016

KENYA - KBF discontinues Conference format

  • Changes have been made to the 2016 KBF format where the Conference format has been discontinued after one season.
The Kenya Basketball Federation has discontinued the Conference format after only one season.
This is one of the changes which will be made to the KBF league this yeat.  During a recent team managers meeting at the Nyayo National Stadium. During the meetinge, a presentation from a professional sports marketing company Arrix Media observed the previous seasons had too many teams.
As a result, it was difficult to manage the league which was also too long and as a result the quality compromised. The meeting adopted recommendations by Arrix Media to have the men's Premier League limited to 12 teams and the women's Premier League 10.
Also, a new tier will be created for both men and women's leagues to absorb teams which were relegated.
Women's division one will have 10 teams; three relegated from the Premier League and seven promoted from Nairobi Basketball Association (NBA).
Men's division one will have 12 teams; six relegated from the Premier League and six remaining in the lower division. Teams relegated from division one will form division two that has 12 teams.
Under the new changes, there will be three competitions running throughout the year. Summer League will be held between January and March comprising of eight teams with one coming from NBA.
There will be a draft process for selecting participating players. The National League will then run from April to October with Kenya Cup being held between November and December.
There will be three tiers for the Kenya Cup knock-out tournament; Premier League, Nationwide League and Division One.
A lot will be at stake because the overall winner will qualify for Fiba Zone 5 championship as the second team to represent Kenya.
There is also a huge reprieve for teams that opt to sign many foreigners after team managers set aside the clause limiting number of foreign players eligible to play in the local league.
The meeting also agreed to re-introduce the clause allowing players’ special transfer on grounds of employment and scholarship while issues concerning international transfers shall be guided by Fiba rules.
2016 KBF League Teams
Men's Premier League: Ulinzi Warriors, USIU-A, KPA, Thunder, Co-op Bank, Blades, Nakuru Club, Equity Bank, Strathmore University, Lions, KCA-U, Upper Hill School.
Women's Premier League: KPA, USIU-A, Equity Bank, Co-op Bank, Strathmore University, Masaku Sparks, Ulinzi Blades, Storms, Western Delight, Eagle Wings.
Men' Division One: Umoja, KU Pirates, Zetech University, Terror, KAA, Nairobi Aviation College, Trailblazers, Barclays Bank, JKUAT, ANU, Eldonets, 4-Christ.
Women's Division One:  KCA-U, Kisumu Lady Bucks, KU Oryx, Zetech University, Gladiators, Kaya Tiwi High School, Strathmore University, Daystar University, Egerton University, Eldonets.
Men's Division Two: Baraka Xtreme, MKU Thika, World Hope, Lakeside, Blazers, EMYBA, Don Bosco, Little Prince, Zetech University, Egerton University, USIU-A, Riara University.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?