12 January 2011

UGANDA : Enabu brothers team up

Three Enabu brothers have been named on the national team to represent Uganda at the Fiba Africa Zone V Championships in Kigali, Rwanda early next month.

UCU captain Ivan Enabu, MVP when Uganda hosted and won the tournament in 2005, is now joined by his younger brothers Jimmy and Emmanuel. Jimmy is Ivan’s teammate whereas the latter impressed in his first season to help DMark Power win a fourth national basketball league title last month.

Coach Gad Eteu sprung up only two surprises in summoning Charging Rhino shooting guard Mark Opio and Gulu Hawks’ centre Andrew Opio to the provisional 20-man squad. “Since the team has very little time, my plan is to stick to the basics and team chemistry. At this point, you cannot decide on how a player shoots,” Eteu said. Eight players will be dropped from the team which started training yesterday at UCU, Mukono. The tournament has attracted Rwanda, Kenya, Egypt, Sudan, Burundi, Tanzania, DR Congo, Somalia and Ethiopia.

Just like Eteu, his women’s team counterpart Mandy Juruni is yet to name a skipper. Nabisunsa’s Sharon Karungi earned a maiden call. “Most of the girls in my team are young and excited about playing which is a very good thing,” Juruni said.

During a media gathering at in Kampala yesterday, Fuba president Ambrose Tashobya said Shs55m has been budgeted for the event. He also unveiled short and long-term plans aimed at building the national teams. “We plan to introduce teams for U-12 and U-16 from now on. Concurrently, we are holding discussions with Kenya and Rwanda to have a regional tournament,” Tashobya revealed.

Men: Ben Komakech, Ivan Enabu, Emmanuel Enabu, Jimmy Enabu, Norman Blick, Joseph Ikong, Ronnie Kasewu, Mark Opio, Isaac Afidra, Steven Omony, Caesre Kizito, Steven Okias, Philip Wakimwero, Boniface Okello, Eric Malinga, Henry Malinga, Edwin Kateregga, Brian Ssentongo, Robert Mubiru, Andrew Opio.
Reserves: Peter Elungat, Wilson Otweyo, I. Luggude, Jude Ochen, E. Ateng, F. Luzinda

Women: P. Proscovia, S. Karungi, M. Siima, A. Nakiwu, M. Hamala, C. Nantalo, B. Akullo, G. Kyomugisha, M. Amoding, J. Nansobya, L. Nalunkuma, F. Nabulobi, V. Nassolo, H. Kassim, A. Namirimu, C. Karungi, M.
Soigi, J. Chemutai, C. Nafono, C. Achieng, A. Namirimu

Reserves: M. Apako, S. Amito, R. Meme, M. Khisa

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?