13 December 2006

UGANDA : Warriors, Sparks Win Abe Linc Tourney

KYAMBOGO Warriors beat Sadolin Power 51-48 Sunday night at the YMCA Courts in Wandegeya to emerge champions of the 14th edition of the Abraham Lincoln basketball tournament.

Eventual tournament Most Valuable Player (MVP) Stephen Okias, Joshua Etalu and Ronnie Kasewu combined for 37 points to help Warriors end the year in style.
It's the first time since 2000 that a Ugandan side is winning the tournament. Falcons were the champions in 2000 but skipped this year's edition.
Power's Ken Balyejusa garnered 17 points, Isaac Afidra 11 and Simon Ndawula 9 in the game that ended past midnight. Power had earlier in the day defeated defending champions Kenya's United States International University (USIU) in the semi-finals but could not transform their winning formula to the final.In the women's final, Makerere University Sparks' Olivia Mulwana (MVP) showed composure as she converted two free throws with just 15 seconds to play for her side to gain revenge over Nabumali High School Old Girls team 27-25.

Nabumali had beaten Sparks 38-24 in the preliminaries.

Mulwana gathered 11 points and Vicky Nassolo picked up 6 of her own.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?